Our building dates back to the late 15th century, a timber framed house used by the clerks of the nearby St Nicholas’ Chapel. The house was built in about 1480 as a single range fronting the street, probably with shops on the ground floor and domestic accommodation above. In the late 15th century the south wing was added, followed by the north wing in the early 16th century and the central wing in the 19th century. The façade has a jetted first floor, with a dragon post at the southeast corner. Inside there is an open hall with a crown post roof as well as some original window frames and wall paintings.
The building was turned into a public house in the middle of the 20th century. It was named “Olde Lattice Inn” after its lattice design windows which still exist to this day. An excavation below the hall floor in 1979 revealed evidence of various floor layers, and possible evidence of an earlier building on the site.
The site was restored in 1980-92 where some of its medieval features were preserved and those features are evident today. Owned by the Borough Council of Kings Lynn and West Norfolk, it was tenanted to JD Wetherspoons before being sold to Hawthorne leisure in 2016.
Bishops of Chapel Street took over the tenancy in 2018, where a four month major interior renovation took place from January to May. The relaunch of the property took place in recent times where the ‘new’ pub was re-opened to the public. The space has now become a clean, welcoming environment that showcases the history of the building. The name was changed to honour the previous use of the building as a home for the clerks of the nearby chapel.